No M Endorsements for 3-Wheelers, “Move Over” Law, and No Reporting Damages Under $2,500
If you’re one of over 3 million licensed drivers living in Oregon, you may need to add “change my driving habits” to your New Year’s resolutions. The 2017 Oregon Legislature last spring passed a variety of new laws (as well as revisions to pre-existing laws) affecting drivers and vehicle owners in the state. These new changes will officially go into effect on January 1, 2018.
An Overview of Oregon’s New Vehicle Laws
The Oregon Legislature passed a total of seven new vehicle laws/revisions. To summarize each change:
- Auto crashes involving less than $2,500 in damage don’t have to be reported. Damage that meets or exceeds $2,500 must be reported to the DMV within 72 hours.
- If approaching a vehicle with its hazard lights on or in some state of distress–not just emergency vehicles–drivers must either slow their speed by 5 MPH or change to a lane away from the vehicle if possible. Failure to comply could result in a Class B traffic violation.
- Vehicle owners now have the option to hide addresses listed on any proof of compliance documentation, such as a vehicle registration card or proof of insurance.
- Oregonians who have a hardship permit can now request privileges to drive a vehicle with the explicit purpose of seeking or continuing gambling addiction treatment.
- Licensed Oregon drivers are no longer required to take a driving test to earn an endorsement to drive three-wheelers, or even need an endorsement to ride a 3-wheel motorcycle on the streets as long as it has a seat belt.
- Registration for Ex-POW vehicle plates is now permanent. Previously registered Ex-POW vehicles are no longer required to renew their registration. New Ex-POW registrants pay a one-time fee of $15.
- The surcharge for vehicles with Crater Lake plates has been raised from $10 to $15.
In addition to these changes, the Oregon legislature passed a legislative package called Keep Oregon Moving. The package aims to improve Oregon’s transportation systems, such as roads, bridges, highways and public transportation. To acquire funds for these endeavors, fees and taxes for commercial vehicles, passenger-vehicles and other fees related to transportation will be increased.
Get It in Writing
For those interested in the finer details, here are links to the final Bills that changed Oregon vehicle laws.
House Bill 2017 – Keep Oregon Moving
Senate Bill 35 – Crash Reporting Increase
Senate Bill 34 – “Move Over” Law
Senate Bill 930 – Obscuring Your Address
Senate Bill 252 – Driving for Gambling Addiction Treatment
Senate Bill 36 – Three-Wheeler Test Waived
House Bill 2149 – Ex-POW Plates
House Bill 2922 – Crater Lake Plates